Challenge #2: Run the Army Ten-Miler

20x30-AAAQ4722.jpeg

Okay, I know I already said that cycling for 30 miles was a challenge I didn’t think I could complete, but running the Army Ten-Miler was a challenge I really had doubts about.

I started training for the ATM in early March thinking that would be an adequate amount of time to prepare. However, a pretty annoying illness put me out of training for over a month. When I was finally able to start running again I felt like I had to start all over at square one.

In the lead up to the ATM I hadn’t run more than 4 miles at one time and I had resigned myself to the fact that I would have to run/walk it – not at all what I had planned and hoped to do!

Regardless of my lack of training, my sister Lauren and I drove up to D.C. (through hurricane Matthew weather) on the Friday before the race. On Saturday we went to the Expo to pick up our bibs and we were randomly given two free tickets to the ATM pasta dinner (reminded me of Spaghetti Wednesdays at Fort Wainwright!). The pasta dinner was just the morale boost (and the carbo load) I needed. We bumped into old Army friends and olympians – it was amazing!

Sunday morning as we walked to the start line all my nerves had ebbed away. I was one little runner in a sea of 35,000 others and I felt so honored to be there. I ran with enthusiasts in crazy costumes, soldiers running in full uniform carrying our flag, and wounded veterans who were running with prostheses. It was such a humbling and emotional experience!

Race wise, I had a better time than I could have ever imagined. I actually managed to run the whole thing and I finished in two hours and eight minutes. I’m really proud of what I was able to accomplish and I would love for you to have the chance to participate too.

I ran this race in the hope of raising $1,000 for the Fisher House Foundation. Fisher House is an amazing organization that provides housing near hospitals so military families can be nearer while their loved ones are receiving treatment.

This is a link to the Fisher House website, please take a look and see all the great work they do. If that encourages you then please donate toward the cause.

Here is a link for my donation page. I truly appreciate your support!

To see the the full photo album of the race, click  here .

Here is my full 30 for 30 list.

One thought on “Challenge #2: Run the Army Ten-Miler

Leave a Reply

