Challenge #23: Cycle for 30 miles

Off to a roaring start with the challenges. Roaring because that’s what my thighs were doing once I finally got off the worlds heaviest tandem bike that we affectionately nicknamed The Tank.

This challenge was one that I had serious doubts about whether or not I could complete it! My Dad (pictured left) is an avid cyclist, so cycling 30 miles is nothing to him, but I have not ridden a bike in years.

We started in Carlsbad Village then cycled south along the coast toward Solana Beach through Encinitas and Cardiff. The views of the ocean were absolutely stunning and the ocean provided us with a much needed cool breeze.

The only downside were the hills. Fortunately there were only eight of them, but holy cow! Going into this I thought southern California was pretty flat – it’s not!

The upside – going cycling with my Dad!

 

Click here to see my full 30 for 30 list.

 

Leave a Reply

